Put To Question: The Rack

Torture isn’t allowed under English law –

but some folk get stretched on The Rack:

 

The Rack

“We went to the torture room in a kind of procession, the attendants walking ahead with lighted candles.

The chamber was underground and dark, particularly near the entrance. It was a vast place and every device and instrument of human torture was there. They pointed out some of them to me and said I would try them all. Then he asked me again whether I would confess.

‘I cannot,’ I said.”

(Father John Gerard, 1597)

The Rack’s the most painful torture o’ all!

 

Leave a Reply

