Baldwyn’s Threat

From my voluntarie Confession and Examination  (April 2, 1612)

“Richard Baldwyn sayd get out of my ground Whores and Witches, I will burne the one of you, and hang the other.

To whom [I] answered: I care not for thee, hang thy selfe.

Presently whereupon . . . going ouer the next hedge, the said Spirit or Diuell called Tibb appeared . . .and [I] sayd, Revenge thee of him.

[I] sayd againe to the said spirit Revenge thee eyther of him, or his.

And so the said Spirit vanished . . . and [I] neuer saw him since.”

Hanging

Source: Potts, Thomas. The Wonderfull Discoverie of Witches in the Countie of Lancaster, 1613.

Leave a Reply

